cooking · culture · Montreal · people · traveling

Welcome to my blog: WXY

Hello, my name is Xinyao Wang. I am a student from tourism program. I currently live in Montreal, Canada, but I am originally from Tianjin, China. Since I have been here for almost three years, I have knowledge on tourism. I love traveling, cooking, tasting the food and taking pictures.

I have been to Russia, Hong Kong, Inner Mongolia, Quebec City and Eastern Township.

%e6%96%87%e4%bb%b6-2017-2-4-%e4%b8%8b%e5%8d%888-58-15
Red Square, Russia
%e6%96%87%e4%bb%b6-2017-2-4-%e4%b8%8b%e5%8d%888-58-26
Vieux-Québec
dsc00466-1_%e5%89%af%e6%9c%ac
Bleu Lavande, Eastern Township

Gastronomy is one of my favorite parts during traveling. I am good at cooking Chinese food: noodles, fried rice, dumplings, etc.… In my free time, I go to Korean, Japanese and Asian restaurants with my friends.

picture-lan-zhou-noodles
Lan Zhou Noodles
%e6%96%87%e4%bb%b6-2017-2-4-%e4%b8%8b%e5%8d%888-43-21
Type of noodles in Tianjin
%e6%96%87%e4%bb%b6-2017-2-4-%e4%b8%8b%e5%8d%888-44-49
Cucumber with Shrimp Omelet, rice

Before I start my first blog post, I will briefly go over what WXY means and what will consist of. WXY is not only my short name but also stands for we & you. It means I want to share my experience related food and multi-culture. It is about food, culture, and people.

“Eating is the primary way of initiating and maintaining human relationships,” I read it once from Consuming Passions by Peter Farb and George Armelagos. Everyone (we and you) cannot leave eating. We all live in a culture of food: what we eat, where we eat, how we eat, and with whom eat. We taste different types of food around the world and meanwhile learn multi-culture about the world.

Although we have particular characteristic and behaviors, I am willing to discover and explore how multicultural stores and restaurants can affect our choices. And I’m ready to try the variety of cuisines and share them with you as well.

%e6%96%87%e4%bb%b6-2017-2-4-%e4%b8%8b%e5%8d%889-25-02
food, culture, and people

Food is culture; culture is a way of life of people.

Leave a Reply

